Watching for Whales with Whales in Paradise - Review

(Geelong, Vic, Aust)

Whales in Paradise Review July 2011

My husband and I went on a 'Whales in Paradise' sunset cruise, we chose this cruise from their website because it boasted small numbers and good viewing.

Unfortunately we didn't find this to be the case.

There were quite a few people onboard considering the size of the boat.

When a whale was sighted everyone rushed to see. Many people couldn't see very well including us, as we were at the back of the crowd that was four deep at the railings.

I got to see one whale breach - very disappointing.

If we visit the Gold Coast again we will try one of the other tour operators for whale watching. July 2011.

I don't normally publish reviews without names, but you did put in your address details and for the interest of other visitors it is good to see different reviews from real people.

Whales in Paradise are the only operator that goes from the centre of Surfers Paradise, which certainly makes them convenient for those staying in Surfers. And they do have a smaller boat than the operators who depart from Main Beach. Sometimes a smaller boat can be an advantage, as you can actually get much closer to the whales.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with their cruise and I am sure they are open to your comments. I highly recommend you contact them directly, with details of your cruise and I think you will find them quite approachable.

They have been around since about 2004 and have survived some difficult times. The fact they are still in business is a testament to their determination to give a good service and fix issues.

I do hope you get to come back to the Gold Coast and experience another whale watching tour either back with these guys or with one of the other operators, I think you would certainly enjoy seeing the whales. Obviously numbers of whale sightings and what they are doing cannot be guaranteed, but it is a fantastic experience especially if you can get close to them.

You can find more information about Gold Coast tour operators and cruise options by following the links.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am sure our other readers and visitors will benefit from your comments.

Join the conversation or just check us out...

Comments for Watching for Whales with Whales in Paradise - Review

Average Rating star

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 02, 2016
Reluctant to process refunds
by: Anonymous

Make sure you do not pay by credit card. Pay on the day instead. They seem to be deliberately incompetent in refunding for their own financial gains.

I booked my tour for Wed 24/08/16 at 2:30pm. At about 1pm I received a phone call stating my tour was being cancelled due to bad weather and gave my credit card details to get my refund. I was informed that my refund would take 3 working days. After 4 working days I had still not received my refund. After contacting customer support I received no response. 5 hours later I responded stating I would take further action if they continued to ignore me. I was then told contradicting information stating my refund would take 5 - 7 days. No reference number was given, just a the vague statement.

After 1 week, 5 emails and opening up a credit card transaction dispute they finally sent me evidence that the refund had been processed .One week after initially promising to process it. Had I not had been so persistent my refund may have never eventuated.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Whale Watching Review.